Surface finishes

The finishes of natural stone surfaces may be polished, antique, caress finish, leather, desert or moon. Whether a surface is referred to as polished, antique, caress finish, leather, desert or moon depends on how it has been treated, i.e. on the number of times the stone has been grounded or polished. In the following section we provide details of the most common types of surface treatment:

Polished

Polished surfaces are particularly smooth and shiny. The polish deepens the colour of the stone, making every detail visible.

Antique (flamed and brushed) flame treatment produces a rustic, uneven structure. Any sharp edges in this structure are then smoothened with stainless steel or plastic brushes. This produces a pleasant, velvety surface feel. On antique surfaces, fingerprints are clearly visible and difficult to remove. This surface can only be achieved on some, selected types of granite.

Caress Finish

A special surface-finishing procedure is used to satin finish the stone, so that a characteristic surface structure is maintained. Any bumps are polished afterwards. However, not all stones lend themselves to this type of treatment. On caress finish surfaces, fingerprints are barely visible and are easy to remove.

Leather

The leather surface has a finer finish than antique. TOPgranit has the appropriate equipment to produce this type of surface on its own, using polished slabs. Although fingerprints are also visible on leather surfaces, they are slightly easier to remove than those on antique surfaces.

Desert

Although fingerprints are also visible on desert surfaces, they are slightly easier to remove than those on leather surfaces, because desert is smoother and slightly shiny. But not all types of stone are suitable for this type of treatment.

Moon

On moon surfaces, fingerprints are barely visible and are easy to remove. A special surface treatment procedure is used to make the stone slightly shiny, so that a characteristic surface structure is maintained. Any bumps are satin finished afterwards.

Natural stone, haptic (tactile feel)

The haptic of polished surfaces is fairly hard and cold. Antique, caress finish, leather, desert and moon have a fairly smooth feel.

VARIANTES DE SURFACES

Pour la pierre naturelle, on différencie les variantes de surface par «polie, antique, caress finish, leather, desert et moon». La désignation «polie, antique, caress finish, leather, desert et moon» utilise des façonnages de surface respectifs, c‘est-à-dire le nombre de ponçages nécessaires entre la pierre brute et la pierre polie. Les façonnages de surfaces les plus courants sont interprétés ci-dessous:

Polie

La surface polie est particulièrement lisse et brillante. Le poli donne une couleur profonde, chaque capillarité de la pierre devient visible.

Antique (flambée et brossée)

Une surface rustique inégale est réalisée suite au façonnage avec du feu. Les parties aiguës de la surface sont ensuite lissées par des brosses en acier inoxydable. En ce faisant, un toucher agréable et velouté s’élabore. Les empreintes digitales sont bien visibles sur les surfaces «antiques» et difficiles à enlever. Cette surface est seulement disponible sur quelques granits sélectionnés.

Caress Finish

Par une réalisation spéciale, la pierre est brossée mate afin que la structure caractéristique de la surface soit maintenue et les soulèvements sont ensuite repolis. Cependant, toutes les pierres ne sont pas appropriées à cette variante de surface. Les empreintes digitales sont certes visibles sur la surface «caress finish», sont par contre plus faciles à enlever que de la surface «antique».

Leather

La structure de la surface «leather» est plus fine que celle de l’«antique». TOPgranit a les machines spécifiques pour réaliser elle-même cette surface à partir d’une plaque polie. Les empreintes digitales sont à peine visibles sur les surfaces «leather» et faciles à enlever.

Desert

La surface «desert» est plus lisse et légèrement plus brillante que la surface «leather». Cependant, toutes les pierres ne sont pas appropriées à cette variante de surface.

Moon

Les empreintes digitales sont à peine visibles sur les surfaces «moon» et faciles à enlever. Par une réalisation spéciale, la surface de la pierre devient légèrement brillante, de façon à ce que la structure caractéristique de la surface soit maintenue et les soulèvements sont ensuite poncés mat.

Haptique (sensation au toucher)

L’haptique est plutôt dure et froide aux surfaces polies. Les surfaces «antiques, caress finish, leather, desert et moon» donnent plus la sensation douce.