Surface finishes

The finishes of natural stone surfaces may be polished, antique, caress finish, leather, desert or moon. Whether a surface is referred to as polished, antique, caress finish, leather, desert or moon depends on how it has been treated, i.e. on the number of times the stone has been grounded or polished. In the following section we provide details of the most common types of surface treatment:

Polished

Polished surfaces are particularly smooth and shiny. The polish deepens the colour of the stone, making every detail visible.

Antique (flamed and brushed) flame treatment produces a rustic, uneven structure. Any sharp edges in this structure are then smoothened with stainless steel or plastic brushes. This produces a pleasant, velvety surface feel. On antique surfaces, fingerprints are clearly visible and difficult to remove. This surface can only be achieved on some, selected types of granite.

Caress Finish

A special surface-finishing procedure is used to satin finish the stone, so that a characteristic surface structure is maintained. Any bumps are polished afterwards. However, not all stones lend themselves to this type of treatment. On caress finish surfaces, fingerprints are barely visible and are easy to remove.

Leather

The leather surface has a finer finish than antique. TOPgranit has the appropriate equipment to produce this type of surface on its own, using polished slabs. Although fingerprints are also visible on leather surfaces, they are slightly easier to remove than those on antique surfaces.

Desert

Although fingerprints are also visible on desert surfaces, they are slightly easier to remove than those on leather surfaces, because desert is smoother and slightly shiny. But not all types of stone are suitable for this type of treatment.

Moon

On moon surfaces, fingerprints are barely visible and are easy to remove. A special surface treatment procedure is used to make the stone slightly shiny, so that a characteristic surface structure is maintained. Any bumps are satin finished afterwards.

Natural stone, haptic (tactile feel)

The haptic of polished surfaces is fairly hard and cold. Antique, caress finish, leather, desert and moon have a fairly smooth feel.

OBERFLÄCHEN AUSFÜHRUNGEN

Bei Natursteinoberflächen wird zwischen „poliert, antik, caress finish, leather, desert und moon“ unterschieden. Ob eine Oberfläche als „poliert, antik, caress finish, leather, desert und moon“ bezeichnet wird, ergibt sich aus der jeweiligen Oberflächenbearbeitung, d.h. in wie vielen Durchgängen der Stein immer feiner geschliffen und poliert wird. Nachfolgend werden die gängigsten Oberflächenbehandlungen erklärt:

Poliert

Polierte Oberflächen sind besonders glatt und glänzend. Die Politur bewirkt eine optische Farbvertiefung, jede Feinheit des Steines wird sichtbar.

Antik (Geflammt und gebürstet)

Durch die Bearbeitung mit Feuer wird hier eine rustikale, unebene Struktur erzeugt. Scharfe Kanten in dieser Struktur werden danach mit Edelstahl bzw. Kunststoffbürsten geglättet. Dadurch entsteht eine angenehme, samtweiche Haptik. Bei „antiken“ Oberflächen sind Fingerabdrücke deutlich sichtbar und schwer zu entfernen. Diese Oberfläche ist nur bei einigen ausgewählten Granitsorten machbar.

Caress Finish

Durch eine spezielle Oberflächenveredelung wird der Stein matt geschliffen, so dass eine charakteristische Oberflächenstruktur erhalten bleibt und anschließend die Erhebungen aufpoliert werden. Jedoch sind nicht alle Gesteine dafür geeignet. Bei „caress finish“ Oberflächen sind Fingerabdrücke kaum sichtbar und leicht zu entfernen.

Leather

Die „Leather“ Oberfläche ist feiner strukturiert als antik. TOPgranit hat die entsprechenden Maschinen um diese Oberfläche auf Basis polierter Platten selbst herstellen zu können. Bei „leather“ Oberflächen sind Fingerabdrücke zwar auch sichtbar, jedoch etwas leichter zu entfernen als bei antiken Oberflächen.

Desert

Bei „desert“ Oberflächen sind Fingerabdrücke zwar auch sichtbar, jedoch leichter zu entfernen als bei „leather“ Oberflächen, da diese glatter und leicht glänzender ist. Jedoch sind auch hier nicht alle Gesteine dafür geeignet.

Moon

Bei „moon“ Oberflächen sind Fingerabdrücke kaum sichtbar und leicht zu entfernen. Durch eine spezielle Oberflächenveredelung wird der Stein leicht glänzend, sodass eine charakteristische Oberflächenstruktur erhalten bleibt und anschließend die Erhebungen matt geschliffen werden.

Naturstein Haptik (Tastempfinden beim Berühren)

Die Haptik bei polierten Oberflächen ist eher hart und kalt. „Antik, caress, finish, leather, desert und moon“ fühlen sich eher weich an.